United States Signs International Arms Trade Treaty

By Phillip Yu

The United States signed the international Arms Trade Treaty on September 25 2013, in hopes of stemming the flow of weapons to human rights violators, terrorists and rogue agents. This treaty has currently been ratified by only four countries and will go into effect once it is signed and ratified by at least 50 U.N. member states. Syria, North Korea, and Iran voted against the treaty while Russia and China, the world’s largest arms exporters along with the United States, abstained. The National Rifle Association also objected, stating that the treaty will inevitably regulate civilian weapons.

See the Washington Post for more.